subpage banner

Press Releases

Appointments to the Accounting Standards Council

30 Oct 2020

The Minister for Finance has appointed Mr Quek See Tiat as the Chairman and Mr Desmond Chin as a new member of the Accounting Standards Council (ASC), both from 1 November 2020.  

2   Mr Quek, currently Chairman-designate of ASC, will succeed Mr Kevin Kwok who has served as the Chairman of ASC since November 2015. Under Mr Kwok’s leadership, the ASC issued the Singapore Financial Reporting Standards (International) (“SFRS(I)”) to achieve full convergence with International Financial Reporting Standards for Singapore-listed issuers. SFRS(I) has enhanced Singapore’s standing as a trusted international business and financial centre.

3   Mr Chin, who will assume the appointment of the Commissioner of Charities and Executive Director of the Registry of Co-operative Societies and Mutual Benefits Organisations in November, will join ASC upon the retirement of Dr Ang Hak Seng from the Council.

4   A brief write-up of the new Chairman and member can be found in Annex A. The full list of ASC members is at Annex B.

5   The Ministry of Finance would like to express our appreciation to Mr Kevin Kwok for his leadership and contributions as the Chairman of ASC, as well as to retiring member Dr Ang Hak Seng for his invaluable contributions to ASC.

Issued by:
Ministry of Finance
30 Oct 2020

Related articles