subpage banner

Stamp Duties

Stamp duty is a tax on documents relating to immovable properties, stocks or shares. Stamp duty is computed based on the consideration or market value of the relevant asset, whichever is higher.

In recent years, stamp duty has been used as a property cooling measure in Singapore to ensure a stable and sustainable property market.

There are three types of stamp duties for immovable properties:

  1. Buyer’s Stamp Duty;

  2. Seller’s Stamp Duty; and

  3. Additional Buyer’s Stamp Duty.

Buyer’s Stamp Duty (BSD)

BSD is levied on all purchases of property e.g. residential, commercial or industrial properties.

Seller’s Stamp Duty (SSD)

Residential Properties

In February 2010, the Government introduced SSD on sellers who buy (or acquire) residential properties on or after 20 February 2010 and sell (or disposed of) them within the specified holding period. SSD is applied on sale of residential property within the holding period. The SSD was revised on 30 August 2010, 13 January 2011, and 10 March 2017.

Industrial Properties

SSD is also applicable on the sale of industrial properties bought on or after 12 January 2013.

Additional Buyer’s Stamp Duty (ABSD)

The Government introduced ABSD on 8 December 2011. It aims to moderate demand for residential property, thereby ensuring that residential property remains affordable for Singaporeans and that prices move in tandem with economic fundamentals. ABSD applies on top of BSD payable on the purchase of immovable residential properties in Singapore. The ABSD rates were last revised on 16 December 2021 to stabilise the residential property market and avert the risk of a more drastic price correction in the future, which could have a destabilising effect on the economy.

Details on BSD, SSD and ABSD can be found on IRAS website at