subpage banner

Press Releases

Singapore Invited to Participate in the G20 Meetings and Summit in 2018

07 Dec 2017

Singapore has been invited by the Republic of Argentina to participate in the G20 Meetings and the Buenos Aires Summit in 2018. The Buenos Aires Summit from 30 November to 1 December 2018 will be the thirteenth meeting of G20 Heads of State and Government, who will discuss the challenges facing the global economy and the policies to promote strong, sustainable, balanced and inclusive growth.
Singapore and Argentina enjoy warm relations and close cooperation in multilateral fora. As a major financial centre and hub for investments into Asia, Singapore looks forward to contributing actively to the G20 discussions on promoting an open, rules-based international economic system as well as on infrastructure financing, international tax cooperation and the future of work. The G20 Eminent Persons Group on Global Financial Governance[1], chaired by DPM Tharman Shanmugaratnam, will submit its final recommendations to the G20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors by October 2018. 
As the incoming Chairman of ASEAN in 2018, Singapore will work with the Argentine G20 Presidency to enhance cooperation between the G20 and ASEAN, one of the fastest growing regions in the world.  As a member of the Global Governance Group (3G)[2], Singapore will also seek to promote stronger engagement between the G20 and the wider United Nations membership. 
Singapore will collaborate with the Argentine G20 Presidency, other G20 members, and invited partners, to achieve a successful outcome at the Buenos Aires Summit and other meetings.



[1] The EPG’s mandate is to review the challenges and opportunities facing the international financial and monetary systems, and to recommend practical reforms to improve the functioning of the global financial architecture and governance.

[2] The 3G comprises the following Member States of the United Nations: Bahamas, the Kingdom of Bahrain, Barbados, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Costa Rica, the Republic of Finland, Guatemala, Jamaica, Kuwait, the Principality of Liechtenstein, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, Malaysia, the Principality of Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Panama, Peru, the Republic of the Philippines, the State of Qatar, the Republic of Rwanda, the Republic of San Marino, the Republic of Senegal, the Republic of Singapore, Republic of Slovenia, Switzerland, the United Arab Emirates, Uruguay and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam.