subpage banner

Press Releases

Re-Appointment of Board Chairman and Changes to the Members of the Board of Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore

16 Aug 2019

1. The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance, Mr Heng Swee Keat, has re-appointed the Chairman and three members to the Board of the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore (“IRAS Board”). The appointments will take effect from 1 September 2019. 

2. The re-appointed Chairman is:

• Mrs Tan Ching Yee
Permanent Secretary
Ministry of Finance

3.      The re-appointed board members are:

• Mr Adam Abdur Rahman
Managing Director
Head of Corporate Affairs
Citi Singapore and ASEAN

• Professor Sum Yee Loong
Professor of Accounting (Practice)
School of Accountancy
Singapore Management University 

• Mr Tan Boon Gin
Chief Executive Officer
Singapore Exchange Regulation

4. The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance has also appointed five new board members with effect from 1 September 2019. A brief write-up is attached at Annex A (icon_pdf221 KB). The new board members are:

• Mr Sarjit Singh Gill
Senior Counsel
Senior Partner
Shook Lin & Bok

• Mr Ngiam Shih Chun
Chief Executive
Energy Market Authority

• Mr Seah Chin Siong
President and Chief Executive Officer 
Singapore Institute of Management

• Mr Darren Tan
Chief Financial Officer

• Mr Wong Kim Yin
Group Chief Executive Officer
Singapore Power Limited

5. The Ministry of Finance and the IRAS Board welcome the new members and would like to express their appreciation to the retiring members, Mrs Chng Sok Hui, Mr Niam Chiang Meng, Dr Philip Pillai and Mr Bob Tan Beng Hai, whose current terms end on 31 August 2019, for their contributions to the Board.

6. The list of members for the Board of the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore effective from 1 September 2019 is at Annex B (icon_pdf178 KB).


Issued by Ministry of Finance 
16 August 2019