subpage banner

Press Releases

MFA-MOF Joint Press Statement: Singapore invited to participate in the G20 Meetings and Summit in 2020

04 Dec 2019

Singapore has been invited by the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia to participate in the G20 meetings and the Riyadh Summit in 2020. The Riyadh Summit, scheduled to be held in November 2020, will be the 15th meeting of G20 Heads of State and Government. This will be the first time that the G20 Summit is held in the Middle East.

Singapore would like to express its appreciation to Saudi Arabia for the invitation. Singapore and Saudi Arabia enjoy a longstanding and multifaceted relationship with cooperation over a broad spectrum. Singapore will continue to contribute actively and constructively to G20 discussions, in particular, on the Saudi Presidency’s theme of “Realizing Opportunities of the 21st Century for All”. Under the priority areas identified by Saudi Arabia, Leaders at the Riyadh Summit will discuss how we can create conditions for all to live, work and thrive. At the same time, the Leaders will look into fostering collective efforts to safeguard the planet and shaping new frontiers to share the benefits of innovation and technological advancement.

Singapore commends Saudi Arabia’s efforts to reach out to non-G20 members to reflect a broad and inclusive range of international interests and perspectives. We will assist to promote stronger engagement between the G20 and the Global Governance Group (3G)[1] of which Singapore is the Convenor; as well as the wider United Nations membership.

Singapore looks forward to working closely with Saudi Arabia as the 2020 G20 President, other G20 members, and invited partners, to achieve a successful outcome at the Riyadh Summit.

.    .    .    .    .





[1] The 3G comprises the following Member States of the United Nations: Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Costa Rica, Finland, Guatemala, Jamaica, Kuwait, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Rwanda, San Marino, Senegal, Singapore, Slovenia, Switzerland, the United Arab Emirates, Uruguay and Vietnam.