subpage banner

Press Releases

Changes To Board Of Inland Revenue Authority Of Singapore (IRAS)

30 Aug 2010

      The Minister for Finance has re-appointed Mr Peter Ong as Chairman of the Board of the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore (IRAS) and also re-appointed four members of the Board. Three new board members have been appointed. These appointments will take effect from 1 September 2010.

2.    The new board members are:

  • Mr Pok Soy Yoong
    Former Head of Tax, Ernst & Young
  • Mr Lee Kwok Cheong
    CEO, Singapore Institute of Management Pte Ltd
  • Mr Pek Hak Bin
    Country President, BP Singapore Pte Ltd

3.    A brief write-up of the new members is attached at Annex A (icon_pdf109 KB). The re-appointed members are:

  • Mr Lim Joo Boon
    Advisor, Phillip Private Equity Pte Ltd & OWW Capital Partners
  • Mr Giam Chin Toon
    Senior Counsel
    Senior Partner, Wee Swee Teow & Co.
  • Dr Tan Kim Siew
    Permanent Secretary (Defence Development)
    Ministry of Defence
  • Mr Viswanathan Shankar
    CEO, Middle East, Africa, the Americas & Europe, Standard Chartered Bank

4.    Three members have retired from the IRAS Board after serving for six years:

  • Mr Noel Hon Chia Chun
    Non-Executive Chairman, e-Cop Pte Ltd
  • Mr Law Song Keng
    Former Managing Director & CEO, Overseas Assurance Corporation Ltd
  • Mr Lim Hua Min
    Executive Chairman, Phillip Securities Pte Ltd

5.    The Ministry of Finance and Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore welcome the new Board members and also express their appreciation to the outgoing members for their valuable contributions.

6.    The Board comprises 9 members and the current list of members is at Annex B (icon_pdf50 KB).

30 August 2010