subpage banner

Press Releases

Appointments to the Singapore Accountancy Commission (SAC)

30 Mar 2015

1. The Minister for Finance has re-appointed Mr Michael Lim, Chairman of the Land Transport Authority and Nomura Singapore Limited, as Chairman of the Singapore Accountancy Commission (“SAC”).

2. The Minister for Finance has also appointed Mr Chaly Mah, Chairman of Deloitte Singapore, as Deputy Chairman of the SAC.  In addition, two new members have been appointed and 11 other members have been re-appointed to the SAC.  These appointments will take effect from 1 April 2015.

3. The two new members are:

Mr Sim Guan Seng
Managing Partner 
Baker Tilly TFW LLP

Mr Yee Ping Yi 
Deputy Secretary (Policy) – Designate  
Ministry of Finance

A brief write-up on the Deputy Chairman and two new members is at Annex A (icon_pdf132 KB).

4. The 11 re-appointed members are:

Mr Chng Lay Chew
Chief Financial Officer
Singapore Exchange

Mr Gerard Ee
Institute of Singapore Chartered Accountants

Ms Rachel Eng
Joint Managing Partner 
Wong Partnership LLP

Mr Kon Yin Tong
Managing Partner
Foo Kon Tan LLP

Ms Leong Wai Leng
Chief Financial Officer
Temasek Holdings

Mrs Deborah Ong
Assurance Partner, Risk and Quality Leader
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Mr Quek Suan Kiat
Vice Chairman 
Barclays Bank PLC Singapore

Mr Tham Sai Choy
Managing Partner 
KPMG in Singapore 
KPMG Asia Pacific

Prof Gillian Yeo
Associate Dean 
Nanyang Business School, Nanyang Technological University

Mr Uantchern Loh
Chief Executive 
Singapore Accountancy Commission

Mr Kenneth Yap
Chief Executive 
Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority

5. The Ministry of Finance and the Singapore Accountancy Commission welcome the new members and would like to express our appreciation to the following retiring members for their invaluable contributions to the SAC:

Dr Ernest Kan
Chief of Operations (Clients and Markets)
Deloitte Singapore

Mr Chan Hon Chew
Chief Financial Officer 
Keppel Corporation Ltd

Mr Paul Lee
Managing Partner
RSM Chio Lim LLP

6. The SAC comprises fifteen members, including Chairman, Mr Michael Lim.  The list of members of the SAC, with effect from 1 April 2015, is at Annex B (icon_pdf9 KB).


Issued by Ministry of Finance 
30 March 2015

[1] Mr Yee Ping Yi will be appointed Deputy Secretary (Policy), Ministry of Finance, with effect from 1 April 2015.