subpage banner

Press Releases

Appointments to The Singapore Accountancy Commission (SAC)

30 Mar 2017

The Minister for Finance has re-appointed Mr Chaly Mah, former Chief Executive Officer of Deloitte Asia Pacific, as Chairman of the Singapore Accountancy Commission (“SAC”). In addition, five new members have been appointed and seven other members have been re-appointed to the SAC. These appointments will be for a two-year term and will take effect from 1 April 2017.

2. The seven re-appointed members are:

  • Mr Gerard Ee
    Institute of Singapore Chartered Accountants
  • Mr Kon Yin Tong
    Managing Partner
    Foo Kon Tan LLP
  • Ms Leong Wai Leng
    Chief Financial Officer
    Temasek Holdings
  • Mr Quek Suan Kiat
    Former Vice Chairman
    Barclays Bank PLC Singapore
  • Mr Sim Guan Seng
    Managing Partner
    Baker Tilly TFW LLP 
  • Mr Evan Law
    Chief Executive
    Singapore Accountancy Commission
  • Mr Yee Ping Yi
    Deputy Secretary (Policy)
    Ministry of Finance

3. The five new members are:

  • Mr Sushil Nair
    Director and Co-Head of Corporate Restructuring & Workouts Practice
    Drew & Napier LLC 
  • Prof Pang Yang Hoong
    Vice Provost (Undergraduate Matters and Student Development)
    Singapore Management University
  • Mr Steven Phan
    Area Managing Partner, Asia-Pacific
  • Mr Magesvaran Suranjan
    Procter & Gamble Asia Pacific 
  • Mr Ong Khiaw Hong
    Chief Executive – Designate (Chief Executive wef 1 April 2017)
    Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority

A brief write-up of the five new members can be found at Annex A.

4. The Ministry of Finance and the SAC welcome the new members, and would like to express our appreciation to the following retiring members for their invaluable contributions to the SAC:

  • Mr Chng Lay Chew
    Chief Financial Officer
    Singapore Exchange Limited
  • Ms Rachel Eng
    Deputy Chairman
    WongPartnership LLP
  • Mrs Deborah Ong
    Assurance Partner, Singapore and International Team Leader
    Global Assurance Quality Review Group 
    PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
  • Mr Tham Sai Choy
    Asia Pacific Chairman
  • Mr Kenneth Yap
    Chief Executive
    Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority
  • Prof Gillian Yeo
    Associate Dean (Faculty), Nanyang Business School
    Nanyang Technological University

5. The SAC comprises 13 members including Chairman. The list of members of the SAC, with effect from 1 April 2017, can be found at Annex B.