Write-up on New Commissioner of Inland Revenue ("CIR") and Outgoing CIR



Mr Ng Wai Choong [伍伟聪]

Mr Ng Wai Choong, 52, joined the Administrative Service in 1991 after graduating from the University of Tokyo, Japan in 1990. He was appointed to his current appointment as Chief Executive of Energy Market Authority on 1 April 2015. Prior to this, Mr Ng was the Deputy Secretary (Policy) in the Ministry of Finance from April 2007 to March 2015, overseeing government revenue, expenditure and investment policies.

From April 2004 to March 2007, Mr Ng served as the Deputy Secretary (Industry) at the Ministry of Trade and Industry, and was concurrently the Chief Executive of the Competition Commission of Singapore from January 2005 to April 2006.

The Monbusho scholar was conferred the Public Administration Medal (Silver) and the Long Service Medal in 2006 and 2014, respectively.



Mr Tan Tee How [陈继豪]

Mr Tan Tee How, 58, started his career in the Administrative Service in the Ministry of Finance (MOF) in 1983. He was posted to the Ministry of National Development in 1988. Thereafter, he held various key appointments which include Controller of Immigration at the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), Deputy Secretary at the then-Ministry of Information and Arts, Principal Private Secretary to Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong, Chief Executive Officer at the National Healthcare Group, and Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of National Development (MND), before his appointment as Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) from 2011 to 2014.

Mr Tan was appointed as the Commissioner and Chief Executive Officer of Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore (IRAS) on 1 Dec 2014. Under his leadership, IRAS continued to be an efficient and innovative tax administration, keeping the cost of tax collection and tax arrears low, with continuing efforts to maximise voluntary compliance.

Mr Tan received his Bachelor of Business Administration (2nd Upper Class Honours) from the National University of Singapore. He also studied for a Master in Public Administration at the Harvard University under the auspices of the Fulbright Scholarship. He was awarded the Public Administration Medal (Silver), the Long Service Medal and the Public Administration Medal (Gold) in 1997, 2007 and 2008, respectively.